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EXPANDABLE CARD GAME

The Heart of Europe Expansion
RULEBOOK

The Second Inquisition heats up in the city known as the
“Heart of Europe” — PRAGUE! Thanks to an all-new
City Deck, Prague offers Old World intrigue and new
challenges to overcome when the sun goes down. The

Heart of Europe cxpands all prcviously released
clans in the Rivals ECG with new content!
Mix these cards into your collection
to find new routes to dominance
for your coterie.
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Rules Updates
When a triggered ability is triggered during another action or event, resolve the
effect immediately before continuing the action or event. This reverses the FAQ
entries on Knowledge is Power (B&A) and C ity Park (We&R) so that all tuggered
effects now work the same.
We are adding a new step to the Attack sequence:
L, Players may activate abilities at chis time.” This allows players to use abilities
(including Relentless ones) before the defender has to make any choices.
New Concepts and Keywords
Curse: Any card attached to your vampire by another player is a “Curse.”
These include Crossbow, Veiled Threat, and several cards in this set. It doesn't
matter where the card comes from. It only matters who controls the effect
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that attaches the card. A card does not need to have the Curse keyword to be a
Curse—in fact, none do. Often, these cards are attached face down. You cannot
remove a Curse unless an effect allows you to. When a Cursed vampire goes
into torpor, place all actached Curses in their owners’ discard piles. If a Cursed
vampire is burned or suffers diablerie, remove the Curses from the game as
usual. Curses count towards the 3 attachment limit on a vampire. A Curse
cannot be attached to a vampire who is ah‘eady at their attachment limit.

Fear Tokens: These tokens have been slightly reworded to be more clear. We
changed “next turn” to “your turn” so that it only resolves at the start of your own
turn and doesn't require you to remember when the token was applied. Fear tokens
are removed during the Ready and Return Step of your Beginning Phase. All
previously released Fear tokens should be considered to have this new text.

Solo Attacker: This is a modified “Attacker” tag that requires the vampire to
be in a party with no other vampires in order to take advantage of the effect.
If there is at least one other vampire in the party, ignore this text.

Titles: To save space, the top line of Title cards will now simply read: “Exert X
Influence to attach.” The X will always be a number and this Influence cost is still
a one-time payment to attach the card to the acting vampire. The cost is no longer
written using the Cost: Effect template, which is to help players remember that
the Influence can come from multiple sources and not just the acting vampire.

Trap: Thesc are cards you place face down and place Prestige on similar to
Conspiracies. However, instead of getting others to join you, you can spring
these surprises on your foes when they perform certain acts. (See page 5.)

“When empty, burn this:” To save space, we will no longer be printing these words
on Ongoing cards. If a non-character card you have played uses tokens to activate
abilities or removes them via certain triggers and has no tokens on it, burn it.

5-Card Errata Pack: These cards from the Core Set have received errata to
balance them in relation to similar cards. All copies of these cards are considered
to have these changes7 but playing with these new versions is recommended.

» Sucker Punch can get around Blocks and Reactions, so 2 damage was just too
much. Now it deals 1 base damage.

+ Hunt the Hunters made it too easy to keep Second Inquisition targets in The
Streets and there was no real way to fight against this Agenda card. Now only the
player with this card shuffles Second Inquisition cards back into the City Deck,
and also shuffles any cards in the discard pile back in as well. Previously, it was

possible for the discard pile to never be shuffled into the City Deck.

+ The Madhouse cost to activate was excessive for its effect, so we dropped the
requirement to exhaust your Leader. Now you need only discard 1 card to add
Prestige to a face-down card you control.




Prague City Deck

The action moves from the new world to the old world! Players should typically
use the latest City Deck, so assume you are playing in Prague until a new City
Deck is released. hfp ayers wish to use a different city in their home game, the
players should all agree prior to any deck construction. Follow the same setup
rules as found in the core rulebook for the San Francisco City Deck.

The Citizens and Vagrants are very similar to those found in the SF deck. One
change can be found among the Citizens: If you use the Burn option, you will
choose between mending 3 @ or gaining 1 Attachmg works the same as
before. Remember that when you attach a Retainer via any means, you earn the
“Attach -7 rewards. If the effect that attaches the Retainer doesnt trigger attach
effects, you don’t earn any one-time rewards like “Draw 1 card” or the Agenda
gain from the Playthings Agcnda card, but the benefits for being an actachment
do apply (attributes, disciplines, +1 BP, etc.).
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Team X Operatives

These Second Inquisition holy warriors seek to exterminate Team X Operaive

vampires and have the power of their faith to back them up. z .
‘eam X Operative

To save space, we have removed the text: “When defeated, secONCIRAD ol

gain 17 and discard this.” However, since the Agenda icon e X0 peratree

SECOND INQUISITION

still appears under their Blood, you still earn 1 Agenda when
you defeat one. When you defeat a Team X Operative, it is
discarded into the City Deck discard pile. It will return once
the Prague City Deck runs out. “At the end of your turn”

was also removed from the Ongoing line, as there is already oRTAL HTABONST oNGONG
a specific Antagonist Step during your End Phase. That is -;;E»:;:ﬂ”x b
when you resolve Team X Operatives. e —

Team X Operatives work a little differently than the Special

Affairs Division. As they enter The Streets, stack them together with other Team
X Operatives already in The Streets so that the number of cards in the stack is
obvious to all players. This does not constitute a “party.” During the Antagonist
Step of your End Phase, resolve only the top card of the stack based on the
number of Team X in the stack:

1 Team X: “Deal 1 Aggravated @ to a character in your coterie.”

2 Team X: “Deal 1 Aggravated ® o a character in your coterie,”
AND “Discard 1 card.”

3 Team X: “Deal 1 Aggravated ® (0 a character in your coterie,” AND * leLdld
1 card,” AND “Deal 1 Aggravated @ to a character in your coterie.”

4 Team X: “Deal 1 Aggravated ® o a character in your coterie,” AND “Dmcard
1 card,” AND “Deal 1 Aggravated @ to a character in your coterie,”
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Note that Team X Operatives are not hampered by Secrecy. There’s nowhere

to hide!

Important Each instance of Team X damage may be applicd to a different
vampire in your coterie. If you apply both to the same vampire, it is applied as
one packet of 2 Aggravated damage and not as 2 separate instances of 1 damage
(same as S.A.D. in the San Francisco deck).

Again, do not “resolve” every Team X in the stack. Should a Team X be
removed from its stack to form a new stack, each different stack resolves
separately. However, you cannot choose to form different stacks without an
effect telling you to. When you defeat a Team X Operative, remove only that
one card from that stack. The entire stack is not defeated.

NEW RULES

Traps

When vampires stalk the denizens of the city at night, they don’t generally get
much trouble from the mortal set. So when they emerge from the shadows, the
last thing they’ll be expecting is something that bites back!

To play a Trap, place it face down near your Haven Blood Potaoning
and place 1 Prestige from your personal supply on it.
Traps are indistinguishable from Conspiracies at this
point, and you never need to declare if you are placing
a Conspiracy or a Trap face down. However, Traps are
not revealed to your foes to get them to contribute—
You're on your own. Just like with Conspiracies, the
controller of a Trap may add 1 Prestige from their

personal supply to it during each of their subsequent e
Lighs 5 @ Target foc's character that artached
turns. A Haven like The Madhouse works just as well < Revine i o s o e

with Traps as with Conspiracies.

Traps are effects that can often be used during a foe's turn to wreak a little
havoc. The text on Traps allows them to be revealed and resolved at any time
and during any player’s turn. However, each requires a triggering event as
described on the card and some also require a discipline in order to reveal

it. If you don't have that discipline in your coterie, you can't reveal the Trap.
Traps don't have a Prestige requirement to resolve. You may even resolve a Trap
with no Prestige on it, though you must place Prestige on them to play them.
However, most Traps will do more the more Prestige is on them.

The wording "Resolve at any time" doesn't mean you may resolve it for no
reason whenever you wish. [t means you may resolve it when the triggering
event occurs, sometimes even after the fact and during any player's turn. When
a triggering event occurs, you are not required to resolve a Trap. You may
resolve as many Traps as you wish when the triggering events occur. As usual,
return all Prestige on the Trap to the general supply after resolving it.

5
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SEEGIFIC CARDNCHA RTEICATICONS

A House Divided: Despite all being in the same location, the vampires in a Haven
are all separate parties for the entirety of each turn during this Event.

Anjali the Samedi: The last sentence refers to the vampire and not the player.
If the card (which becomes a Curse) is the first actachment on that vampire,
you draw 1 card.

Borek Wagner, Property Developer: “From your collection” means the card must
come from your own collection and cannot be another copy of a Haven you
currently control. You may choose a Haven that another player controls, as Havens
are not unique. Be sure to bring some extra Havens if you play with these cards.

A Haven attached to a Leader onlv grants the “Leader Ablhtv section to )our
Leader. It grants all text under the Leader Ablhtv headline, and all other text is
ignored. If Borek leaves play, burn all accached Havens. Burned Havens become
part of your collection again. Borek does not gain a new Haven when he returns.

Bread and Circuses: “Reward” is a game term for giving things to other players.
It has no other effect at this time. The mend effect may be used on a vampire in
torpor, as it looks for a vampire "they control” not “in their coterie.”

Cover Charge: Since this card acts as a City Deck Ongoing Event, when it is
burned at the start of your next turn it goes into the City Deck bumed pile.

That makes it eligible to return to the City Deck via a Bohemian Carnevale

or other means. If you are not using sleeves on your City Deck cards, shuffle
the deck under the table. Later, you will see when it becomes the top card of
the City Deck, which gives you time to prepare. If you play Cover Charge at
a tournament, be sure to brmg a few extra City Deck sleeves for anyone who

mlght be pla} ing Cover Charge.

Dien: Since you are able to return 1 card to your hand Dien %

GANGREL VAMPIRE

before revealing any, you can “bluff” with any card —
and then return it to your hand. However, if you must o 3
reveal a card and it does not match your declared
attack type, you must immediately discard it after
revealing it. Playing 2 cards of the declared attack
type offers the greatest benefit: After the defender
has blocked and/or played a Reaction, you now have

the opportunity to return 1 card to your hand with ; e o 101,
more information than you had before the attack. If ;ﬁg‘:‘ﬁt,‘i";ﬁxﬁmﬁ

you play only 1 card and pick it up, your accack still (Y et o e i
proceeds without the aid of an Attack card. z
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If an effect causes the Actack card(s) to be placed face up, that does not turn off
Dien’s ability and you may return a face-up card to your hand. Any pre-combat
abilities on the face-up card remain, even if the card is returned to your hand.
However, if the face-up card does not match the stated attack type, discard it
immediately without effect. For example, if you play a Scoped .30-06 face up
during the Intel Step, you may still play another Ranged attack card at the usual
time. You get the +1 Intel if‘you declared a Ranged actack, even if’ you later put
the .30-06 back into your hand. However, if the attack is not declared as Ranged,
you must discard the face-up .30-06 immediately and you do not get the +1 Intel.

Disheveled Shelves: This Agenda card is very different in that you win only if
your Rival’s Library is empty of cards. Scoring 13 Agenda does not instantly cause
you to win the game.

Emil Hruza: If you ignore a non-Ongoing Event, you do not participate in its
game text. You may choose to ignore an Ongoing Event at any time and you

may change your mind at any time, except while an Action is underway. For
example, before attacking you in your Haven, a foe must ask if you are ignoring
the Ongoing Event A House Divided. Once you answer, you cannot change your
mind until the atcack is over. You may go back and forth between ignoring it and
abiding by it any number of times, even during the same turn.

You must reveal and announce the name of the Event you choose to shuffle into
the City Deck. Even if the Event you chose is burned at the start of another
player’s turn, it s still removed from the game.

3§27 Tortifyche Innee Facade Fortify the Inner Facade: This card resolves before
any effect on an Attack card would cause you to lose
or spend any Prestige. It is only looking for wording
on the Attack card that refers to the loss/spending/
stealing/contributing of Prestige, and the Prestige
gain only resolves if you indeed would lose Prestige
via the Attack card. Cards such as Backhanded
Compliment, Demand Obedience, and Faulty Logic
would cause the defending player to gain the 3

Play chis card face wp. 0 4
Ifyous foes Actack card would cause you Prestige from the general supply before the Prestige

10 lose or spend &8, gain 3 & first.
< Ifnot, +1 9.

loss happens. A Biting Comment has the potential
to cause you Prestige loss, but you only gain the 3
Prestige if the atcacker chooses to steal 1 Prestige
from you, which they decide after your Reaction is revealed. If they choose the
£ damage, you gain no Prestige.

If the Prestige loss is based on damage done, resolve the damage, gain the Prestige
from Fortify, and then lose the Prestige from the attack. Being defeated and
“losing” 1 Prestige is not a function of an Attack card, so that does not trigger the
Prestige gain. If no Prestige loss happens, the defender instead gains +1 o if they
have the & discipline.
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The Guard Tower: This Haven does not provide Secrecy to your vampires.
Instead, it gives +1 @ to any Guard in your coterie who Blocks an atcack.

Hidden Stash: The Prestige on this card may be used to pay for Prestige
activation ability costs on vampires you control. However, if there are other costs
involved, those are not paid with the Prestige on this card. As a Thin-blood card,
a common use is to activate 1 or more 1 BP vampires’ Shield abilities at a cost of
1 Prestige each.

Jan Zoubek: The Agenda this vampire denies includes the 1 Agenda a foe gains
for defeating a Rival vampire, card effects that would have a foe gain Agenda for
defeating a vampire, and Agenda placed on your vampires via Marked Man or
various Lasombra clan effects.

Kiril: As soon as this vampire becomes an attacker, they have +3 Influence until
the end of the current turn (until it's spent).

Off Limits: To resolve this card, there is the requirement of a defender in The
Streets. A “defender” is any vampire or Mortal being targeted by an attacker. An
attacker being scruck by a damaging Reaction is not a defender. This Trap is not a
Reaction, so it may be used during a claim to the Prince Title.

Racing the Clock: This Event is looking for your highest BP ready character
before your coterie readies at the start of your turn. If you have no ready
vampires in your coterie, you cannot prevent the loss of 1 Action this turn.
A character gaining a Fear token this way will remove it almost immediately
during your Beginning Phase, but remains exhausted.

Rapid Reflexes: To retarget an attack is to switch defenders when this card
resolves, which is after the attacker’s card resolves if they played one. An atcack
may not be retargeted to the vampire who played it. The new target is not
Blocking, nor are they “a Blocker” during this actack.

Roman Monstrum: You do not have to own the Curse you choose to remove
from the target.

Tipped Off: Because a player token is not placed Tipped O
on this when it enters The Streets, it remains in
play until che Scheme succeeds. A player may
spend an Action and exhaust a vampire in their
coterie to perform this Action, which is a Scheme
that starts an Influence Conflict, just like a normal
Scheme. Anything that applies during a Scheme

applies here. If YES beats NO, move 1 Team X R
Operative in The Streets of the active player’s oD e DA S A Pl
. Ongoing, Action: Influence Conflict (Scheme)
choosing next to the Haven of the targeted player S e S i o T
o e o e A e

(same place as Ongoing cards go), and then burn (choose now), hen bum thiscard? .

" > i PR e
this card. While next to that Haven, it is a separate
stack of Team X Operatives that resolves only
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against that player. The card gains no benefit or Secrecy from being next

to their Haven and any player may attack it. The player who has it next to
their Haven must move to The Streets to attack it (as usual). If that Team X
Operative enters play again, it joins its compatriots in The Streets as usual.
If chis Scheme fails, this card is not burned.

Voter Suppression: When a player chooses “No” against your Scheme, all of
their vampires who just applied a ‘No Influence’ token are exerting Influence
against your Scheme. Note that the Exhaust ability of this card does not have
Relentless, so it may only be activated during your own turn.

Whip of the Primogen: This Title is not Unique, but is instead limited to 1 per
player. The ‘No Influence’ token may be removed from any vampire in your
coterie of the same clan as the Whip, including the Whip itself.

Withering Spirit: Do not add the acting vampire’s © to the damage, as this is
not an attack. If you choose to burn a wraith to make the damage Aggravated,
that wraith is not counted when calculating damage. When you burn a wraith,
remove both the token and the face-down Retainer from the game. If you don’t
burn a wraith, the target’s ©  will reduce the damage. Non-Special Reactions
can't be played since this is not an atcack, but Shields and damage prevention
(such as the Vagrant) may be used to reduce the damage.
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